Foothills District News – May-June 2021

The Foothills District continues to shine as we move into 2021 and the promise of greater things ahead! This section of the newsletter will focus on all that’s happening in our neck of the woods.

Cub Day Camp Info

Cub Scout Day Camp is ON for this year!!! Our “Weird Science” Day Camp will be July 8-10 and it is tentatively planned to be at Toad Suck Park. Packs, Dens and Cubs should plan on joining us to kick off the summer with some classic Scouting fun including archery, BB guns, rockets, lots of awesome Cub Scout songs and games as well as some really weird experiments. There will also be plenty for the Webelos to do as well to earn some requirements. So put it on your calendar today! If you have questions, contact Day Camp Director Melissa Leslie at 501-472-9592.

Thank You!

Foothills has always been home to the best volunteers and, this month we want to recognize Marlin Partney and Carl Frederickson for organizing our volunteer recognition event last month as well as Joetta Williamson for serving as the point of contact for our 2021 rechartering campaign! Also, thank you to Clay Arnold who led our Nominating Committee this year and did a wonderful job!

Friends of Scouting Update

We also want to thank FOS Chairman Jonathan Adams and Finance Chair David Kordsmeier for their leadership in this year’s Friends of Scouting campaign. Thus far our Foothills campaign has raised $25,953 of our $48,000 goal! Thank you to all those who have contributed to the campaign, including Troop 534, Troop 392, Troop 112 and Troop 93 who hosted Family FOS presentations.

District Committee Update

The Nominating Committee was pleased to present a great slate of volunteers to staff the District Committee in 2021. Tony Sitz returns as District Chairman and Jeremy Landon took over as District Commissioner. Vice Chairs include Brent Hill (Admin), Bill Price (Program), Joe Fisher (Membership) and David Kordsmeier (Finance). Operating Committee chairs are: Marlin Partney (Activities), Carl Frederickson (Advancement), David Clark (Risk Management), and Michelle Godush (Training). Many more were nominated as District Committee Members at Large.

District Award of Merit

At our virtual Volunteer Recognition Event in March we were able to recognize and present three individuals with the District Award of Merit, the highest award that a District can award to a volunteer. The recipients were:

  • Clay Arnold
  • Samantha Pike
  • Neil Swartz

Congratulations to each of you for this great honor and thank you for your service to Scouting!

Rechartering Update

Foothills units were due to recharter on February 28 this year and, at this time, all 27 units have submitted their recharter, pending a couple of unit leaders finishing their training. Thank you to all those who helped get your recharters completed on time.